2018 Free-Throw-A-Thon winners announced

Dear WSJ Families:

Thank you to all the coaches, players and families for participating in this season’s Free Throw A Thon. We have collected $6,839 so far and still have some more donations to come in.

Please join us in congratulating these teams and players for their winnings. These are based on donations and counts collected as of February 10th, 2018.


The following teams win a Post-Season Party for raising the most donations:

WSD1B01 – Art Williams and Eric Peden – $424
WSD2B01 – Bill Lin – $403
WSD3B02 – Fred Barrigar & David Myung – $655
WSA4B01 – Chris Familetti & Clayton Thompson – $620


The best free throw shooter is Mihir Gupta from WSD3B01, Coach Kishore and Coach Arun’s team. Mihir will be receiving a Spalding TF-1000 ball.


The coaches of these teams will also be receiving a Spalding TF-1000 ball for getting the top free-throw percentage for their division. At the end of the season, the coach will award the ball to the best “game day” free throw player on the team.

WSD1B01 – Art Williams and Eric Peden
WSD2B06 – Dave Huang and Nianwei Xing
WSD3B05 – Donny Young and Jason Wong
WSD3G01 – Kris Mower & Therese Kinane
WSA8B01 – Arthur Jones


The top 5 free-throw percentage players in each of Boys Division 1, 2 and 3, Boys/Girls All-Net and the top 2 free-throw percentage players in each of Girls Division 1, 2 and 3 will each receive a WSJ NJB special edition t-shirt.

As there were several players with the same number of free throw counts, there may be more than 5 for each division. The winning players are:

Boys Division 1 – Amol Bhat, Kyle Wong, Mahit Tanikella, Sujay Mehta, Timothy Li
Boys Division 2 – Max Xing, Nikhil Sharma, Rudransh Singh, Swastik Purathepparambil, Yashas Vissapragad
Boys Division 3 – Aaroosh Rustagi, Arnav Kamatala, Daniel Ji, Diego Inocencio, Jatin Sarabu, Mihir Gupta, Srujan Telidevara, Sufyaan Abdul Rahman, Varun Bhuta
All Net – Ajay Kankipati, Arthur Zhou, Justin Familetti, Nikhil Narasimhan, Noah Custodio Rickie Fang
Girls Division 2 – Bria Shimada, Sudeepthi Ravi
Girls Division 3 – Madelyn Freidin, Maya Kumar, Shruti Vpparthy

For the balls and T-shirts, please stay tuned for more information on when and where to pick them up.

Go West San Jose!